Planning for the Ballast Office
This Landmark building was built in 1835.
We have recently lodged a planning application (MAR ’20) to renovate the historic Ballast Office on the Crescent Quay in Wexford. The landmark building was built in 1835 to 1840 as the Harbour Commissioners Office. For short periods of late the building was used as the Tourist Information Office and Wexford Chamber of Commerce. Currently underused and taken over by Wexford County Council in recent years, Wexford County Council have entrusted Stephen Carr Architects to design an exciting new use for the building as a restaurant/café. Summarising the design approach, the building has been mistreated with inappropriate materials and modern interventions. The design proposal looks to restore these important historical features and elevate once again the status and prominence of this building on the Crescent Quay. The proposed use follows Wexford County Councils recent upgrades of the crescent quay, and their plan to bring a new tourism & business quarter for Wexford Town in this area. As the project progresses, we look to be appointed by a perspective tenant, bringing along our many years of interior design experience for an exciting new restaurant for Wexford.